Spinning Coin Wednesday, 21st February 2018

Spinning Coin

Spinning Coin

Spinning Coin confirmed as tour support for Alvvays

UK headline dates rescheduled

Spinning Coin are pleased to announce they will be heading out on tour with Alvvays, these dates will precede their own headline dates in March – which have been rearranged from February.


Today, they share ‘Metronome River’ from their debut album Permo. Listen here.


The band’s two songwriters – Sean Armstrong and Jack Mellin – oscillate taking centre stage and the sleepwalking reverie of ‘Metronome River’ is one of Armstrong’s.


Released in November, Permo is an album of bold steps and simple gestures, coming from a group who had found, seemingly effortlessly, a confident, unpretentious way of working together. The fourteen songs on Permo trace all kinds of terrain, though the overarching story might be that of a group looking for escapism, somehow and anyhow, in the midst of a social and cultural climate that’s closing down possibilities for difference and community.


Upcoming live dates

Wed 21st Feb - Church, Leeds w/ Alvvays

Thu 22nd Feb - O2 Academy2, Leicester w/ Alvvays

Fri 23rd Feb - Roundhouse, London w/ Alvvays

Sat 24th Feb – Delicious Clam, Sheffield Tickets Note – rearranged date

Sun 25th Feb – The Library, Oxford Tickets

Mon 26th Feb – La Trabendo, Paris w/ Alvvays

Tues 27th Feb – Gebaude 9, Cologne w/ Alvvays

Wed 28th Feb – SO36, Berlin w/ Alvvays

Thurs 1st March – Ampere, Munich w/ Alvvays

Sat 3rd March – Flex Club, Vienna w/ Alvvays

Sun 4th March – Café V Lese, Prague w/ Alvvays

Tues 6th March – Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam w/ Alvvays

Wed 7th March – Doornroosje, Nijmegen w/ Alvvays

Fri 9th March – Rotondes, Luxembourg w/ Alvvays

Sat 10th March – Atlas, Aarhus w/ Alvvays

Sun 11th March – Store Vega, Copenhagen w/ Alvvays

Mon 19th March - The Eagle Inn, Salford Tickets Note – rearranged date

Tues 20th March - The Victoria, London Tickets Note – rearranged date

Wed 21st March – Rialto Theatre, Brighton Tickets Note – rearranged date

Thurs 22nd March - Grain Barge, Bristol Tickets Note – rearranged date

25th April – Artist Unlimited, Bielefeld

26th April – Hangende Garten, Koln

27th April – City Club, Augsburg

28th April – InDieWohnzimmer, Stuttgart

29th April – Pooca Bar, Hamburg

30th April – Loophole, Berlin

1st May – Ostpol, Dresden

Recorded with Edwyn Collins at his AED Studios, and at Green Door Studio (the recording centre for the new wave of Glasgow artists) with Stu Evans, Permo was released via Geographic, The Pastels’ Domino imprint. 

Permo is available to buy on limited-edition green coloured vinyl, standard vinyl, CD – all of which come with a booklet - and digital. 

Spinning Coin


Spinning Coin

Spinning Coin


Spinning Coin

Spinning Coin


Spinning Coin are Sean Armstrong (vocals, guitar), Jack Mellin (vocals, guitar), Rachel Taylor (bass, vocals, keyboards) and Chris White (drums).